William Ruto says use of Police to intimidate and blackmail senators wrong

DP William Ruto Decries the Use of Police to Intimidate and Harass Leaders

Deputy President William Ruto has taken an angry swipe at the ministry of interior for the chaos and intimidation meted against senators witnessed yesterday.

In a strongly worded tweet, Ruto says that the use of police officers to intimidate leaders and blackmail senators was giving the Jubilee government a bad image.

“The abuse of police & criminal justice to bully citizens, threaten & intimidate leaders and now blackmail senate is wrong…its not the reason millions woke up to vote for us” said the DP.

The DP, who sounded disturbed by the events of yesterday, regretted that the intimidation of senators with divergent views was an affront to their constitutional rights.

Yesterday, three senators arrested as the senate reconvened to debate the contentious county revenue sharing bill for the 9th time.

Bomet senator Christopher Lang’at was arrested at his home in Nairobi and taken to Bomet to answer to charges of inciting his community against their neighbouring Maasai community.

Lang’at was since released on police bond yesterday.

Samburu senator Steve Lelegwe was arrested on his way to parliament although his charges are still unclear.

Kakamega senator Cleophas Malala was today released after the DPP threw out charges against him.

At the same time, the DP has lauded the senate for the formation of the 12 member committee to find a solution to the county revenue sharing formula.

The DP who has always maintained that the country needs a win-win formula for sharing revenue called the move a show of great wisdom and leadership.

“The bipartisan Senate Committee to build win-win consensus is great wisdom and leadership.” said the DP on twitter.

The 12 member committee comprises of senators Kipchumba Murkomen (Elgeyo Marakwet), Mutula Kilonzo (Makueni), Samson Cherargei (Nandi), Mahamud Mohamed (Mandera), Moses Kajwang (Homa Bay), Steward Madzayo (Kilifi), John Kinyua (Laikipia), Ledama Ole Kina (Narok) and Anwar Oleitiptip (Lamu).

The committee will be co-chaired by Bungoma Senator Moses Wetangula and Nairobi’s Johnson Sakaja.


Do you have a story you wish to tell? Oppressed at your work place? You have news? Tips? Exposé? You need to be heard??

The Kenyan Herald will carry your story. Share with us on email editor@kenyan-herald.com or info@Kenyan-herald.com or news@Kenyan-Herald.com

Do you have a comment about this article?