Interior Cabinet Secretary Fred Matiang'I has announced that the government is extending acquaintance of the e-passport period. Through a press statement on Monday, he noted that the time has now been extended by 12 months to give room to Kenyans on diaspora 

According to Matiang'I the government is planning to do away to old passports to digitalized ones. The state has however noticed that over 1.8 million Kenyans on foreign countries are yet to change their passports. 

"Due to this, the government hereby extends the deadline for voiding the current dark blue machine-readable passport by 12 months. As such, it's holders may continue using it until March 1, 2021 when it will no longer be valid for traveling, " part of the statement read. 

The statement further stated that the government has set up and operationalized four passport control centers. This is located in Nakuru, Kisii, Eldoret, and Embu. There are other six in diaspora three being in Europe, one in the US, one in South Africa and last one situated in Dubai.