President Uhuru Signs 2020/21 County Revenue Allocation Bill Into Law

President Uhuru Kenyatta has President Uhuru Kenyatta has signed into law the 2020/2021 County Revenue Allocation Bill. 

The president signed the bill into law today morning at State House, Nairobi paving the way for the disbursement of exchequer funds to the counties. 

The bill was presented to the president by Senate Speaker Kenneth Lusaka, National Assembly Speaker Justin Muturi, Treasury CS Ukur Yattani, Leaders of Majority in the Senate and the National Assembly Samuel Poghisio and Amos Kimunya were present when the president signed the bill. 

The new law allocates a sum of Sh369.87 billion in the current fiscal year to counties and includes Sh316.5 billion of Equitable Share and Sh13.73 billion in Government of Kenya Conditional Grants. 

President Uhuru Kenyatta at State House, Nairobi during the signing of the 2020/2021 County Revenue Allocation Bill into law. Photo/ Courtesy

It also includes Sh9.43 billion from the Road Maintenance/Fuel Levy as well as Sh30.2 billion in Loans and Grants. 

The conditional allocation will be utilized in provision of services such as leasing of medical equipment and rehabilitation of youth polytechnics across all the 47 counties. 

Also present were Leaders of Majority in the Senate and the National Assembly Samuel Poghisio and Amos Kimunya, Head of Public Service Dr Joseph Kinyua, Clerks of both Houses Jeremiah Nyegenye (Senate) and Michael Sialai (National Assembly), Solicitor General Ken Ogeto and State House Deputy Chief of Staff Njee Muturi. 

Do you have a story you wish to tell? Oppressed at your work place? You have news? Tips? Exposé? You need to be heard??

The Kenyan Herald will carry your story. Share with us on email or or

Do you have a comment about this article?