Ruto’s Plea to Competitors Ahead of Looming IEBC Reshuffle

With just two years before the 2022 general elections, Deputy President William Ruto has come out to weigh in on the expected looming changes inside the electoral body IEBC.

Talking on Sunday at Kiritiri Market after a prayer service at the Kiritiri Catholic Church, Mbeere South, Embu County, Ruto remarked he was ready for the IEBC changes that are expected to take place before the 2022 general elections.


While indirectly hitting out at President Uhuru Kenyatta and ODM party leader Raila Odinga, the defiant Ruto maintained he will not be cowed by the imminent changes at the electoral commission, saying they can even appoint Raila’s older brother Oburu Odinga to the position of the commission’s chairmanship.

The second in command maintained it was Kenyans who were going to decide on who will lead them in 2022 as the next president and not a few individuals.


“Even if they want to appoint Oburu Odinga to the position of the IEBC chairman, I don’t have any problem with that…because I know they are not the ones to decide, its the citizens who are going to decide on who will be the next President,” he communicated.

The DP, who now seems a lone ranger in the midst of ‘dynasties’ however, pleaded with his competitors to accept the 2022 results, adding that Kenyans do not want any chaos that will emerge as a result of some people protesting the outcomes.

“They can choose a chairman and commissioner of their own choice, but what I want to ask them is this; let them give us an assurance that when Kenyans will have voted and decide, they should accept the outcomes,” stated Ruto amid cheers from the crowd.


Ruto, who was in the Mt. Kenya region for the second-day visit, was accompanied by more than 30 Members of Parliament.

Among those who accompanied Ruto to Embu included; MPs Geoffrey King’ang’i (Mbere South), James Gakuya (Embakasi North), John Muchiri (Manyatta), Kimani Ichungwa (Kikuyu), Moses Kuria (Gatundu South), Rigathi Gachagua (Mathira), Eric Muchangi (Runyenjes), Njagagua Muriuki (Mbeere North), Wangui Ngirici (Kirinyaga Women Rep.), Alice Wahome (Kandara),

Others were; Aisha Jumwa (Malindi), Lydiah Haika (Taita Taveta), Githua Wamacukuru (Kabete), Millicent Omanga (nominated Senator), Johnson Muthama (former Machakos Senator), and Cecily Mbarire (nominated MP).

Do you have a story you wish to tell? Oppressed at your work place? You have news? Tips? Exposé? You need to be heard??

The Kenyan Herald will carry your story. Share with us on email or or

Do you have a comment about this article?