The Senate Fails to Pass the County Revenue Sharing Bill for the 9th Time, Opts for 12 Member Adhoc Committee

Emotions ran high as senators engaged in a push and pull debate on the contentious county revenue bill, with the speaker’s ruling paving the way for a 12 member adhoc committee to find a solution.

Even after a whole day of debating, a compromise position was arrived at after a harrowing stalemate.

Speaker Ken Lusaka ruled that nominated senators from their respective counties will not vote on behalf of the three arrested senators, throwing the proceedings into spin.

“Given what the constitution and the standing orders say, and we are guided by the constitution and the standing order, my hands are tied, there is nothing that I can do but to say that we will follow the constitution,” Speaker Ken Lusaka said as the newly formed ‘Team Kenya’ senators burst into celebration.

The ruling by the senator took many by surprise as Lusaka has been viewed as weak and indecisive.

And with the government side backed into a corner, they had no option but to move a motion of adjournment after they had previously voted against

Bomet Senator Christopher Lang'at who was arrested today over incitement charges
Bomet Senator Christopher Lang’at with his lawyer Nelson Havi (in red tie) after he was arrested today Photo: Courtesy

Tharaka Nithi’s senator Kithure Kindiki who had proposed adjourning the session until the three arrested senators were released.

Read: Bomet Senator Christopher Lang’at Accused of Inciting Violence, Now Out on Police Bond

Following the impasse, the senate arrived at a compromise, forming committee of 12 members to find a win-win solution.

This was the 9th time that the senators had failed to arrive at a consensus.

The committee comprises of senators Kipchumba Murkomen (Elgeyo Marakwet), Mutula Kilonzo (Makueni), Samson Cherargei (Nandi), Mahamud Mohamed (Mandera), Moses Kajwang (Homa Bay), Steward Madzayo (Kilifi), John Kinyua (Laikipia), Ledama Ole Kina (Narok) and Anwar Oleitiptip (Lamu).

The committee will be co-chaired by Bungoma Senator Moses Wetangula and Nairobi’s Johnson Sakaja.

Earlier in the day, an emotional Kipchumba Murkomen had called for an adjournment of the debate following the arrest of three senators Cleophas Malala (Kakamega), Steve Lelegwe (Samburu) and Christopher Langat (Bomet).

The arrests of the three legislators was seen by ‘Team Kenya’ as a strategy to influence the outcome of the motion that has thrown counties into chaos for lack of funds.

Do you have a story you wish to tell? Oppressed at your work place? You have news? Tips? Exposé? You need to be heard??

The Kenyan Herald will carry your story. Share with us on email or or

Do you have a comment about this article?