Travellers From 130 Countries Exempted From Mandatory Quarantine

Kenya has updated the list of countries allowed to fly in and out of the country amid COVID-19 pandemic.

In the list released on Wednesday, those travelling from U.S. (except California, Florida and Texas), Russia, Turkey, Poland, Cuba and Australia will need not be quarantined for 14 days.

Others on the list include; France, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Canada, China and Russia.

From Africa, Kenya will allow flights from Morocco, Namibia, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Seychelles, Tunisia, and Zimbabwe.

Those coming in from Angola, Botswana, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gambia, Lesotho, Libya and Mauritius will also be exempted from quarantine.

Still missing from the list is Tanzania, Somalia and South Africa.

When Kenya announced resumption of international flights on August 1, Tanzania was missing from the original list of countries allowed into the former’s airspace.

In retaliation, the John Magufuli-led administration revoked Kenya Airways clearance.

In a letter to the national carrier from the Tanzania Civil Aviation Authority Director General Hamza, KQ’s clearance was as a result revoked.

“The Authority regrets to inform you that, on a reciprocal basis, the Tanzanian Government has decided to nullify its approval for Kenya Airways flights between Nairobi and Dar/Kilimanjaro/Zanzibar effective August 1, 2020 until further notice,” the letter read in part.

Despite government efforts, Tanzania is yet to allow KQ into its airspace.

As for South Africa, the COVID-19 situation is at its peak with 592,000 confirmed infections and more than 12,000 fatalities.

Since the resumption of flights, Kenya has exempted travelers not exhibiting Coronavirus-like symptoms from quarantine.

“All passengers shall be exempt from quarantine on arrival at their destinations if their body temperature is not above 37.5 degrees celsius and they do not have a persistent cough, difficulty in breathing and other flu-like symptoms,” Transport CS James Macharia said.

They will however be required to produce COVID-19 free certificates proving that the test was carried out 96 hours before traveling.



Do you have a story you wish to tell? Oppressed at your work place? You have news? Tips? Exposé? You need to be heard??

The Kenyan Herald will carry your story. Share with us on email or or

Do you have a comment about this article?