In a move that will take many by surprise, WhatsApp users may lose access if they don’t accept new terms of service. The popular messaging service will reportedly update its terms of service in the coming year, that will take effect starting February 8.
If users do not agree to the new privacy rules, however, they could lose access to the messaging app.
According to WABetaInfo, Whatsapp new terms of service state that users can either accept the new terms, or ‘delete’ their accounts.
The Facebook-owned app confirmed separately that all users must agree or lose access otherwise.
The key updates will include more information about the messaging service and how user data is processed. It will also include information on how businesses can use Facebook-hosted services to store and manage chats.
The update announcement is followed by a disclaimer that says that the new terms will come into effect on February 8, 2021.
The disclaimer went on to read, “After this date, you’ll need to accept the new terms to continue using WhatsApp or you can always delete your account.”
WABetaInfo also mentioned that the aforementioned date may be subject to change and that the updated terms of service are expected to be announced in the coming weeks.
In other WhatsApp-related news, the messaging app is receiving new updates that will bring a range of improvements to wallpapers.
It will allow users to set custom wallpapers for different chats and also bring an updated stock wallpaper gallery.